|Terms and Conditions > United States > Payless|
Payless Terms & Conditions
The below T&Cs (including prices and taxes) are provided by Payless Car Rental and may change without notice to VroomVroomVroom.
This quote includes:
This quote will not include:
* Important information about car rental insurance
For US citizens
Some US credit cards and personal car insurance policies do provide car rental insurance so please check with your credit card provider and personal auto insurance policy for details.
Visiting the US from another country
It is illegal to drive in the US without car insurance. Your travel insurance probably only covers the excess so check the fine print in your travel insurance policy.
For more information please see our U.S. car rental insurance guide.
Car Rental Policies
Our car rental policies section answers your frequently asked questions about Payless Car Rental, your discount car rental company.
Click on location to view rental policies
Additional drivers must meet the minimum age requirements, present a valid photo drivers license and credit card in his/her own name. All location policies that apply to the renter will also apply. Cost varies at each location.
Renter must be 25 years of age with a valid photo driver's license and major credit card in his/her own name.
CREDIT CARD QUALIFICATION
The credit card and valid drivers' license must be in the same name.
CREDIT CARD HOLD
The estimated amount of the rental or a minimum of $150.00, whichever is greater, will be charged against your credit card at the time of rental. Unused funds, if any, will be returned by the credit card processer. It may take 2-5 days for the credit to appear on your account.
DEBIT CARD QUALIFICATION
DEBIT CARD HOLD
The estimated amount of the rental plus an additional amount of $250.00 will be charged against your debit card at the time of rental. These funds will no longer be available for your immediate use and may take up to 14 days, depending on your bank, to become available. We will not be responsible for any returned check(s) or insufficient fund charges or bank fees related to this process.
COLLISION DAMAGE WAIVER
If you do not purchase Collision Damage Waiver, you are responsible for all damage to the rented vehicle.
OPTION #1 BUY A TANK
Travel permitted within California, Nevada, and Arizona with unlimited mileage. Vehicles may not leave these 3 states.
Rental is based on a 24-hour period. The client receives a 59-minute grace period. If he/she keeps the vehicle after this time, an hourly rate will apply from minute one.
It is the policy of Payless to have the confirmed vehicle available for calendar day of the scheduled arrival. If your reservation is for arrival within the last hour of operation and your flight is delayed, the location is required to remain open for an additional hour to accommodate late arrivals. Should you arrive after this time, Payless will hold your vehicle for pick up until 9:00 am the next morning.
REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS
All drivers must meet the renting location's minimum age requirements, have a valid driver's license, clean driving record, and present a major credit card in his/her own name at the time of rental. See also age, driver's license, driving records, and credit cards.
QUALIFICATIONS FOR RENTERS FROM COUNTRIES OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES
EARLY OR LATE RETURN
The confirmed rental rate applies only to the exact reservation period specified. The rate is subject to a daily surcharge if you return the vehicle before or after the due date or to a different office.
ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (prices vary at each depot -refer the location link above for full details)
Roadside Assistance Program, October 1, 2008
Varies at each location – refer to the depot link above
SPECIAL EQUIPMENT (prices vary at each depot -refer the location link for full details)
Car Seat Infant - $7.00 per day
LIABILITY INSURANCE (prices vary at each depot -refer the location link for full details)
When you rent a vehicle from this Payless location, your personal automobile liability insurance is primary in the event of injury, death or property damage to third persons or their property arising from the use of the rental vehicle. If you do not have personal auto liability insurance, we offer optional insurance products that provide liability coverage:
PERSONAL ACCIDENT INSURANCE/EFFECTS COVERAGE (prices vary at each depot -refer the location link above for full details)
PAC/PAI/PEC - $6.50 per day, $9.99 per day for vans