Loading...
Fast and Easy Way to Compare,
Book and Save on Your Car Rentals.
  • Great Rates
  • Wide Selection of Cars
  • Trusted Since 2001
Download the FREE VroomVroomVroom App App Store Google Store

What Are the Age Restrictions When Renting a Car in the USA?

age restrictions

Are you ready to hit the road with your first rental car? Renting a car can sometimes be tricky since most car rental companies set a minimum age requirement of 25. However, policies may vary depending on the rental location, making it extremely important to call the rental supplier well in advance before you book your rental. VroomVroomVroom has compiled important information below to help you get on the road and have a worry-free vacation.

What is the minimum age to rent a car in the United States?

Most states in the U.S. require rental car companies the discretion to set their minimum age requirement, which is generally but not always 25. Renters age 21 to 24 can drive but will be subject to a surcharge payable on collection of the vehicle. Keep in mind that this is charged on top of the daily rental rate.

Click here to know more about Minimum age and Young Driver Surcharge.

What is the maximum age to rent a car in the United States?

Most rental companies in the USA do not have maximum limits on car rentals. And while age limits may vary between car rental companies, senior drivers age 70 and older are encouraged to call or contact the rental location directly to find out what the age limits are.

Can I rent a car at 18?

Yes. It's a common misconception that drivers have to be at least 25 before they can rent a car. New York and Michigan have state laws requiring rental companies to rent to drivers age 18 and over with a valid driver's license. However, young drivers can only rent some types of vehicles with an additional Age Differential Charge that may vary depending on location and car class.

Read more about Teenage Drivers.

Important:

Age Restrictions

Keep in mind that before you can drive in the USA, you must be at least 21 years old (unless you are in New York or Michigan, where the age limit is 18 years old). Drivers under the age of 25 will have to pay an additional underage fee. There is no maximum driving age in the U.S. however, it is recommended to contact your rental location or check the rental information to confirm eligibility.

MENU