Budget Terms & Conditions

The below T&Cs (including prices and taxes) are provided by Budget and may change without notice to VroomVroomVroom.com.

This quote includes:

  • all taxes, airport taxes and surcharges if applicable,
  • Stated mileage amount (generally unlimited, see below for extra mileage charges)
  • Vehicle Registration fee,
  • One way fees if applicable,
  • All vehicle fees related to the booking e.g. Vehicle drop fees, all recovery fees, premium location fees, corporate location fees wherever applicable.

This quote will not include:

  • Fuel
  • Insurance (See next paragraph*)
  • Child seats or booster seats (can be purchased after confirmation for generally $13 US per day with a maximum of $65 US per rental).
  • Extra miles (if your rental has limited mileage, each additional mile over the limit will be charged at $0.25).
  • Age surcharge of up to $35* for drivers 21-24.
  • Any extras signed up for upon arrival, e.g. GPS, Child Seats, Additional Drivers, Ski Racks (Vary by pick up location).
  • All extras and additional services will attract additional local percentage taxes and surcharges. Prices below are exclusive of these as they vary state to state.

Modifying Booking

Modifying your booking may change the original quoted price. For details on how to modify your booking please click the 'My Booking' tab above.

* Important information about car rental insurance

For US citizens
Some US credit cards and personal car insurance policies do provide car rental insurance so please check with your credit card provider and personal auto insurance policy for details.

Visiting the US from another country
It is illegal to drive in the US without car insurance. Your travel insurance probably only covers the excess so check the fine print in your travel insurance policy.

For more information please see our U.S. car rental insurance guide.


See below for more Budget Terms and Conditions

All extras and additional services will attract additional local percentage taxes and surcharges. Prices below are exclusive of these as they vary state to state.

OR see Budget for further details

Age

Since fees and permissible vehicle types vary by location, it's best to find the underage requirement in the city where you are renting prior to picking up your rental.

At most U.S. corporate-operated locations, you must be at least 21 years of age to rent, but the following provisions apply for customers between the ages of 21-24:

  • Renters 21-24 must present a valid, acceptable credit card (debit cards are not permitted) and a valid driver's license (subject to screening of your driving record), both in the renter's name.
  • At time of rental, an additional underage surcharge of up to $35 per day for these renters will be applied. Because we don't verify your age when you make a reservation, this fee is in addition to your quoted online rate.
  • Drivers between the ages of 21-24 will not be permitted to rent luxury cars, mini vans, 12-passenger vans, specialty vehicles, full-size SUVs or premium SUVs.
  • If a renter wishes to add an additional driver to the rental policy, the second driver must be 25 or older and present their valid driver's license and credit card or, at some locations, a debit card is acceptable.

In Michigan at corporate-operated locations,the underage surcharge $28-per-day for drivers 21-24 years old will be applied.

In New York State at corporate-operated locations the underage surcharge is $35-per-day for drivers 21-24 years old will be applied. Drivers under the age 25 will not be permitted to rent luxury cars, mini vans, 12-passenger vans, specialty vehicles, full-size SUVs or premium SUVs.

Other Age Exceptions

A customer involved in an Insurance Replacement from one of the following companies may rent at the minimum age of 18: State Farm, American Family, Progressive, Travelers, CCRG Claims, Allstate, and Bristol-Myers Squibb.

Drivers and additional drivers who are employees of the same company, on company business, and renting with their employer's BCD corporate rates, must be at least 21 years of age, or may be 18 years of age if employed by one of the following companies or their affiliates: Agilent Technologies, Nortel Networks, Northrop-Grumman, PricewaterhouseCoopers, State of Oregon, State of Washington, or with the U.S. Government on travel orders.

Select corporate customers and insurance/service replacement rental customers may be exempt from the underage fee. Check with your account representative to see if your company account is eligible.

Government employees over the age of 18 traveling on government orders in the U.S. may rent from Budget without a surcharge.

Inbound tour customers are permitted to rent from Budget corporate-owned locations at the minimum age of 19. Inbound tour customers are defined as those not residing in the U.S., Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, or Canada who are renting on an inbound tour rate.

The minimum rental age for tour customers residing in the U.S., Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, or Canada will remain at 21. An underage surcharge may apply for renters under 25.

U.S. Budget licensee-owned location age rules vary, however most allow a minimum age of 18-25 for a small surcharge.

For any location, check the terms and conditions on your online reservation confirmation to see which age rules apply for your selected location.

Non U.S. & Canadian residents Drivers Licence requirements

Non-U.S. and non-Canadian residents are required to present a valid driver's license and a passport from their home country. If the information on your driver's license is not written in the Roman alphabet, you must also present an International Driving Permit. If you have indicated on your reservation that you are a non-U.S. resident, you must also present proof of your return trip back to your resident country or your confirmed reservation rate will change. 

Drivers exempt from the additional driver fee are:

  • The renter's spouse. To qualify for this exemption, at the time of rental, if the renter states that the additional driver (regardless of sex) is his or her spouse, mate, life companion, significant other or domestic life partner, the additional driver will be treated as a spouse.
  • A qualified employer, employee or co-worker while engaged in a business activity with a renter with a Budget Corporate Account
  • The licensed companion driver of a non-licensed renter with a disability (when the renter has completed a Non-Licensed Renter Form).

Any person involved in an insurance/service replacement may add the following individuals who are at least 21 years of age:

  • spouse/significant other.
  • company employee/co-worker (for company vehicle replacement rentals)
  • family member (on insurance policy)

If the insurance company is State Farm, American Family, Progressive, Travelers, CCRG Claims, or Allstate, the additional driver may be at least 18 years of age if one of the following apply:

  • spouse/significant other
  • company employee/co-worker (for company vehicle replacement rentals)
  • family member (on insurance policy)
  • additional drivers in the State of California

Additional driver requirements:

  • Although additional driver rules at licensee-owned locations and locations outside of the U.S may vary, except for California, Nevada and New York, the fee for each additional driver is $13 per day with a maximum charge of $65 per rental. There is no additional driver fee in California. In Nevada, the fee is $10 per day with a maximum charge of $65 per rental. In New York, the fee is $3 per day.
  • Additional drivers must possess a valid driver's license and must meet minimum age requirements.
  • Additional drivers must present a credit card, debit card (if accepted) or Budget Cash Prepayment ID Card (except spouse, corporate employee, and the qualified companion driver of a renter with a disability) Note: Select locations will not accept a debit card.
  • Qualified additional drivers must be present at the time of rental, except for spouse and corporate employees.
  • Spouses and corporate employee additional drivers must still meet all rental requirements, even if not present at the time of rental.
  • Qualified additional drivers not present at the time of rental may be added after the rental agreement is open. In this case, the additional driver and renter may return to a corporate Budget location, where the qualified additional driver may be added to the rental agreement at that time. Note: This policy does not apply to employees on contracted rates, or to spouses.
  • The additional driver and the renter must sign an additional driver form. Note: This policy does not apply to employees on contracted rates, or to spouses.

Additional Driver Age Requirements

The minimum age for an additional driver is 25 with the following exceptions:

  • Additional drivers who are employees of the same company, on company business, and using corporate rates may be 21 years of age (18 if employed by one of these companies and their affiliates: Agilent Technologies, State of Washington, Nortel Networks, State of Oregon, Northrop Grumman, U.S. Government, PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • Additional drivers traveling with inbound tour voucher customers must be 19. In Hawaii, if the additional driver is 21-24 with a locally-negotiated tour (rather than a corporate-negotiated tour) or wholesale voucher, a $10-per-day underage surcharge applies unless included in the rate. Note: Inbound tour voucher customers are customers who do not reside in the U.S., Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico or Canada and are renting on an inbound tour rate.
  • In New York State, the minimum age for an additional driver traveling with a customer on a tour rate is 19.
  • Insurance/Service Replacement Renters may add a spouse/significant other, family member, or co-worker as an additional driver if the spouse is at least 18 years of age and listed on the same insurance policy.

Debit Card Rental Policy

If you prefer to use a debit card rather than a credit card, be aware that some Budget locations will check your credit with a national credit verification bureau. Other locations might not check your credit, but will require you to present a third form of identification:

For debit card customers renting at an airport location, one of the following is acceptable as a third form of identification in addition to a driver's license and debit card:

  • A round-trip airline ticket, e-ticket, or travel itinerary to or from the airport of rental, disclosing a return date and showing the renter's name
  • A valid U.S. passport or current U.S. military identification card
  • A current vehicle insurance card
  • A current copy (within the last 60 days) of the customer's cellular phone bill, home telephone bill, bank statement or utility bill

For debit card customers renting at an off-airport location, one of the following is acceptable as a third form of identification in addition to a driver's license and debit card:

  • A valid U.S. passport or current U.S. military identification card
  • A current vehicle insurance card
  • A current copy (within the last 60 days) of the customer's cellular phone bill, home telephone bill, bank statement or utility bill.

Snow Chains

Snow chains are not offered or available as optional equipment due to the potential damage they can cause to the rental vehicle. Many local restrictions also prohibit the use of snow chains.



MENU